Health Boards

On 1st October 2009 the 22 Local Health Boards (LHBs) and 7 of the NHS Trusts in Wales were replaced by a new structure made up of 7 new Health Boards.

The previous LHB structure introduced in 2003 had been based on the idea of the “internal market” in which separate NHS bodies acted as either “commissioners” or “providers” of NHS services.  It has since been felt that this system had become inefficient, discouraged cooperative working and, importantly, didn't pay enough attention to the needs of patients. 

The reorganisation of the NHS in Wales therefore aims to create a more streamlined service with a greater emphasis on the needs of patients, reducing inconsistencies and inefficiencies in commissioning and service-provisions across Wales, and allowing money to be more effectively targeted at where it’s needed.

The new Health Boards will be responsible within their area for planning, funding and delivering of:

  • Primary care services - GPs, pharmacies, dentists and optometrists

  • Hospital services for inpatients and outpatients

  • Community services, including  those provided through community health centres and mental health services.

Health boards will be able to provide information to patients and the public about the range of services they provide. 

Their role within the standard NHS complaints procedure will be the same as under the old structure, including  looking at any complaints against GPs, dentists, pharmacists or optometrists which have not been satisfactorily resolved.

To find further information about your new Health Board you can visit the links below.

Aneurin Bevan Health Board  

Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

Cardiff & Vale University Health Board

Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board

Hywel Dda Health Board

Powys Teaching Health Board

Swansea Bay University Health Board

You can also view a map of the areas covered by the new health boards.